Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Replaced my clutch slave cylinder today... what a difference. Much easier pull now. And it was relatively painless... only took about 45 minutes which isn't bad considering I've never done it before.

One thing I would watch out for, though.... the bleeder screw is easy to strip. I learned this the hard way as I was bleeding and tightened it up just a little too much, resulting in the screw breaking off inside the banjo bolt. I just reused the original banjo bolt.

Thanks to Chris at CA-Cycleworks who provided the part and was nice enough to give me instructions.

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here are the guidelines provided by Chris (reprinted without his permission!)... I found them to be very useful.

1) crack loose the bleeder valve as well as banjo bolt on the clutch slave on your bike and then very lightly snug them up so as not to leak right now
2) try to prefill the new clutch slave cylinder with brake fluid and use some grease to hold the o-ring into place
3) get your bottle of brake fluid ready, as well as plenty of rags and a bottle of water
4) place lots of rags under the master cylinder to protect your bike
5) open master cylinder reservoir and fill it close to top
6) remove the sprocket cover
7) make the banjo bolt on the clutch slave finger tight
8) remove the 3 screws that hold the clutch slave and remove it
9) remove the accordian rubber thingy
10) quickly transfer the clutch "Brake hose" to the new clutch slave
11) install clutch slave and 3 screws and lightly tighten the banjo bolt
12) immediately start bleeding the clutch system
13) now that you've bled the clutch, start double checking all screws and install the sprocket cover
14) bleed the clutch again