Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and just discovered what clip ons are. I think they're pretty bad a s s looking in general. My question is, do clip-ons effect your handling? What (besides looks) would be different from switching stock '03 620 handlebars for clip ons?

R

·
0 Posts
To amplify on that faq (which I suspect was written by someone with clip-ons)

Many mods will look cool and may even seem as comfortable in short stretches. Many riding position problems will not reveal themselves until after an entire day in the saddle, or even several consecutive days of riding.

If you're a newbie, you should ride your bike stock for a while to get used to it the way it is and to form well-informed opinions about what works for you and what you want to change. It's a bad idea to make early changes for cosmetic appeal alone -- unless you plan to use your bike as crotch jewelry rather than transportation.

I personally love the way Monsters look with clip-ons but will never add them to my bike because I have back and shoulder issues with riding on clip-ons.. what issues, you ask? Discomfort issues.

·
Registered
94 Posts
T33,
you love your clip-ons, how did they affect comfort? What is your typical riding? I like the looks of clip-ons & bar end mirrors, but I'm afraid it will affect the comfort. I intend to use the bike as everyday transport, around town & city riding. I'm 5'7" and am wondering about handlebar mods, and whether clip-ons combined with rearsets would be hard on the neck & wrists, or would change the weight distribution in a positive way...

·
Registered
447 Posts