Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd really enjoy hearing where everyone likes to ride. I'm in my first year of riding and trying to figure out some good routes. I really enjoy riding up in North Georgia, but it's a major time commitment to get up there, ride around, and come back. And I don't really enjoy riding on 285 and 75 and all that. I live in Vinings. A 2 or 3 hour route would be good for me.

I'll recommend a couple of roads, but I'm sure these are well known to people who've ridden a lot in Georgia:

SR 60 from Morganton to Suches - twisty and pretty - and has Two Wheels Only, a motorcycle hangout with pretty good burgers.

136 from Fairmout through Talking Rock to Dawsonville. Not as twisty as 60, but still very fun and extremely pretty. There's a nice place to pull over and enjoy the view near mile marker 16. (Highway 53 goes sort of parallel to 136. I rode both today and 136 is way better.)

It's very pretty up there now. The leaves are beautiful.

·
Registered
105 Posts
I usually follow the guys that know all the roads, but generally they stop at T.W.O. for lunch. We're also ventured out to Helen. I don't know the road numbers though.

·
Registered
1,227 Posts
I have some local roads that I enjoy in the NW side of town...

Short loops near my house: Dabbs Bridge Rd, Green Ridge Rd, Lead Mnt Rd / Bates Rd, Paga Mine Rd... all in between Acworth, Cartersville/Emerson, Euharlee/Plant Bowen Area...

Longer loops in my area: Hwy 140 through Beasley Gap into Waleska, down 108, to 20, to Canton.. etc etc...

·
Premium Member
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=...74069,-84.552155&spn=0.608,1.005249&z=10&om=1