Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been lurking for a while on this board and others and I've chosen to phrase my question the way I did simply because it gets a lot of interesting responses. My background...I'm a complete newbie, I will take the MSF next month...I've been purchasing gear and already have my helmet, gloves and boots. I'm 40 years old(mid life crisis, yeah I know)....I love the way the bike looks and I love the "soul" description. I understand the feeling, I've got a steel Bianchi road bike and a Ti Litespeed, the Bianchi has soul...not so the Litespeed. I live in the Kansas City area and have a dealer within 25 miles of my home.

I've read about starting small and used, and don't necessarily have a problem with that...but I think that I am mature enough and capable to handle the 620...I've read that I may drop the bike incurring a 300 dollar bill to get the bike repaired...isn't this what I would lose buying a used bike and selling it? So...what do you say, why shouldn't this be my first bike?

Thanks for the input--btw--great board, the most mature and civil board about sportbikes I've seen!

gnew

·
Registered
796 Posts
I agree, why shouldnt it!

Its a good first bike

·
Premium Member
1,928 Posts
Why shouldn't a Monster 620 be your first bike?

The only two good reasons I can think of would be if you could get a new 800 or 1000 instead or buy a used 900.

There's nothing wrong with the 620 and it's got about the same hp as a M750 of a few years ago, but the resale is stronger on the larger displacement bikes.

Used Monsters can be a great deal right now. You can buy one and you have a good chance of it keeping its value, and if you buy from the right person, it can have less issues than a new one.