Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you who don't know, I am pretty new to the motorcycle communtiy. I still haven't decided which Monster to buy yet. But, one thing is for sure, I am mechanically impotent. I've lived with my mom for the past ten years after my parents split up, and my dad can't even do an oil change. I hear how expensive the matinence on a Duc is and how all of you are constantly modifying your bikes, and I'm left with one question...How can I learn? I'm asking because if I don't learn mechanics, my bike will never change. Also, when you all make modifications to your bikes, how much better do they actually get? Speed wise, handiling, torque, style, etc... This would provide a motivation to learn. Should I take a class? What?

·
Premium Member
922 Posts
Adam,
It's not a need. It'a a desire. The mods are not because we have to. We want to. There are lots of stock bikes ridden bone stock for years. I once had a Honda (oh the shame) that I only added a luggage rack to (more shame) in 60K miles. There are some bikes that owners are more passionate about... Monsters, various Harleys, maybe the occasional Wing ... that owners jsut constantly want to play with, buy gifts for and make unique to them.

Once you get a bike, you will meet and become friendly with other motorheads. There will be people to help, teach and advise. The ability will develop ... or not. The changes will be made... or not. Does not matter. All that really matters is the ride. The fun, the adventures, the excitement, the people, the sights and the memories. Motorcycles will change your life if you become addicted to them. Don't worry about the mechanical skill. It's a sub plot. Some bikers shine, some tinker, some ride extreme miles, some extreme speeds. You do not have to do any of these. Just ride.

Doc

·
Registered
366 Posts