Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
??? Hello I'm new to the motorcycle world and I will be purchasing a bike soon. The Monster is number 1 on my list but the only dealers are 2.5 hrs. away. Is the Monster expensive to maintain and dependable enough to warrant such a drive? How often do they need servicing? As a beginner,which is a better bike for a 30 year old level headed guy the 620 or 800 ???

H

·
0 Posts
I think all the bikes are reliable enough, but the maintenance costs are higher on the Ducati bikes. Mostly the 6 and 12K mile intervals.

As for which one is right for you, I'd say get what fits you bank account. If you can afford the 800, get it. You won't regret it.

·
Premium Member
2,406 Posts
Jeez Herb is there any post you don't get involved with? :p

IMHO - which you can take for what you think it is worth the 620 is the "perfect" bike. It weighs less, is shorter, and has more than enough get-up-and-go. When I bought mine the sales manager kept telling me I should get the 900 or at least the 750 because in 6 months to a year I would out grow the 620 and want a bigger bike. Nope, didn't happen. Besides the 620 is less expensive up front to purchase, and you'll probably find it will be less expensive to insure as well.

Of course I'm not trying to keep up with my buddies on their 996s, 999s, and freakin huge ass engine Japanese imports either. They can go at my pace or I can meet them at the stop point. So if you're going to feel like you gotta keep up with the pack then perhaps the 800 would be a better choice.

I love the way she leans, runs, and looks and we get along great . . . what else could a guy ask for?

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
As we usually recommend to all beginners, you're probably better off getting a used bike initially so that you don't feel so bad when you drop it. If you really have to have a new one, both the Monster 620 and 800 are great choices.