Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the bike is parked in the living room where it's nice and warm. I'm about to put it up on stands. I'm planning on doing a couple repairs/mods which shouldn't be too bad. However, I've never wrenched on a bike before (or much of anything else) and have no idea what tools I'll need. Hopefully it'll be a fun learning experience and not too traumatic.

I'm planning on:
New clip ons
New rear brake lever (or maybe even rear sets)
Integrated tail light/tail chop

Maybe planning on:
New exhaust
New tank

In my posession:
Set of Allen wrenches
Drill + associated stuff
Leatherman

Pathetic I know, but I'm a recent college grad living off a college campus and have never needed tools before. I'm assuming I'll need a set of wrenches (metric? standard?). What else will I need?

·
Premium Member
2,089 Posts
What Ducman suggested is actually a really good idea, i know $190 seems a bit pricey, but honestly that'll cover most of the tools you'll need to do nearly anything on your bike. Anything else you might need would be a special tool, or can be rented.

Justin

·
Registered
2,722 Posts
As to answer one of your other questions, you'll want metric. All japanese and italian bikes use metric sizing and unless you're working on a yamaha, you won't need those stupid torx tools.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
+1 to Ducman851

If you watch you can get that exact set for $150. They frequently have it on sale at that price. I bought one at that price.

·
Registered
6,266 Posts
I suggested that one as thats whats in my box that goes to the racetrack. It also has pretty much everything youll need to perform basic tasks on your bike.

Also a few other items that would be good to add.

10mm allen socket (for oil changes)
14mm allen socket (for removing the oil creen)
21mm 6pt wrench or deep socket (for removing cover plug over oil screen)