Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to this so bare with me. I just bought a 2003 Monster 800 Dark but I want a bit more meat on the tail end than the stock 160 rear tire. My problem is that the stock rear rim is 4.5 wide and I think I need to get a 5.5 wide rim to fit a 180 in the rear. Will the wider rim from a 1000 fit, or is there alot I would have to do to get it to match up right? Also, does anyone know where I could get a 5.5 rear wheel from? Thanks guys.

·
Registered
8,800 Posts
Re:  What larger wheel will fit my 03 Monster

I've only got one 5.5" rim, and I use it on every ride, so I'm no help on that, but your handling could get a little strange with 180 on a narrower rim. Best to get the rim first.

Perhaps somebody trading up to mag wheels, or maybe you'd like to try some?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Re:

I have the same thoughts, a 180 would look better than the 160 but I'm not sure the handling would be improved. I think the 5.5 WILL fit the M800 and they can be found on E-bay occasionally. They usually go for about $250.

Lee

·
Premium Member
3,677 Posts

ST2 or ST4 wheel or that from M1000DS. I just talked to a guy today that accidentally bought ST2 rear wheel and has no use for it since he has carby bike with smaller rear axle.

:) Chris

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

I have the same bike and was going through the same thing. What mods do you have on your bike?

R.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Re:

ST2 or ST4 wheel or that from M1000DS. I just talked to a guy today that accidentally bought ST2 rear wheel and has no use for it since he has carby bike with smaller rear axle.

:) Chris
How much does he want for it Chris?

·
Premium Member
3,677 Posts

I dunno. I knew 620s had 4.5" but thought 800 had 5.5"... I don't recall who he was. Ask on the big Ducati list... I think he's lurking there. :)

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Re: