Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please don't laugh, I've been a musician my whole life, never a mechanic. I'm learning a lot being a part of this forum, however, I keep reading people saying they have an "open airbox". First off, what does an airbox do, and second, what does it mean/ do to be open? Also, what is a K & N filter and why is it so good? Please be kind to my ignorance...

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
An airbox for a motorcycle is designed to work with the resonant frequency of the air being sucked into the engine through the carburetors or fuel injection throttle bodies so that the engine will have a smooth powerband. Without an airbox, the engine might make more power at a particular engine speed, like 8000 rpms, but be weaker at some other speed, like 5000 rpms. The original airbox on the Monster has the additional duty of reducing the intake noise to pass federal noise laws.

With the carbureted Monsters, at least, a few more horsepower is available by removing the rubber snorkels in the airbox to let more air flow through at higher engine speeds. This makes more noise when the throttle is open and requires changing the jetting of the carburetors to provide a richer mixture so that the engine produces optimal power. You can get even a little more airflow by cutting open the whole top of the airbox, which we then call an "open airbox".

As for the K & N filter, it is a different air filter that is supposed to let more air through. You can also clean it yourself so that you don't have to buy new air filters every few thousand miles. It's not the only aftermarket air filter; I had a foam Uni-Filter on my Monster. Some people claim that the stock Ducati paper air filter actually flows more air than a K & N filter, but I've never seen any scientific proof either way.