Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to the racing scene so excuse my ignorance, but since Ducati's superbike is now 1099cc, isn't it illegal for WSBK racing? Last I heard, the displacement limit for a twin is still 1000cc.

·
Premium Member
9,761 Posts
chipazzo said:
They are definately racing the 1098 next year. Ducati IS WSBK!
you sure about that? i haven't heard any reg changes for worldsbk (yet). i wouldn't put it past 'em to race teh 999 again (like they raced the 998f the first year the 999 came out).

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
Ducati will be racing a largely unchanged 999 in '07. That's a fact, at least according to Troy Bayliss.

In '08 when the new FIM rules come into effect around the world (everyone's agreed to them, including AMA which is about freaking time!) Ducati will roll out their 1200 (or whatever it is). They're likely to be joined by KTM and there's talk of other manufacturers as well.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
EvilSteve said:
Ducati will be racing a largely unchanged 999 in '07. That's a fact, at least according to Troy Bayliss.
In '08 when the new FIM rules come into effect around the world (everyone's agreed to them, including AMA which is about freaking time!) Ducati will roll out their 1200 (or whatever it is). They're likely to be joined by KTM and there's talk of other manufacturers as well.
My bad I thought the rules were going into effect this year.

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
Yeah, it's a shame because I'd love to see the 1098 out there but I guess they're aiming higher. Ducati *could* have a lean year in '07 but with Troy on the bike they may still do ok. He said himself that the bike is basically the same because there's not much else they can do to it.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·