Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just checked my valves (2nd time I've done this on my own) and they NEED NO ADJUSTMENT????!?!? WTF? I have to admit I'm pleased but somewhat vexed. :eek: Has anyone has such an experience before?

Mark ??? ??? ??? ???

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
after the first 12k or so, the valve clearances don't change much. they should be checked at least every 6k to avoid problems.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
What tools are needed to check the valves on your own? Anyway to save money and buy more carbon fiber I'm game for.

·
Premium Member
341 Posts
Being that I'm very new to this, what does that item cost and is it difficult to use?
A feeler gauge is simply a length of metal of a precise width.. you usually keep a set of them of different widths.

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You need a very fine feeler gauge. Check out Ducatitech.com to see the kinds of clearences you'll be measuring before you buy one. Just decide...if you check them and they need adjustin' are you going to do it on your own or take it in to the dealer.

·
Registered
835 Posts
IMHO you shouldn't try to adjust your valves unless you know what you are doing. And if you don't know what a feeler is, you obviously don't know how to use it. (No slam intended)
Desmo valves are more complicated to adjust/check than "normal" valves. And doing it wrong can cause major damage.
Food for thought.
Wasn't Major Damage the officer in charge of bent rocker arms? Can't remember. :D

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
gotta say i agree with Pogo. if you want to do it yourself, get someone to walk you through it that has experience. valve to tight = valve job in a few hundred miles.

·
Registered
31 Posts
I do the valves myself and the first time is rather long and a bit tedious but once you got it it's easy.