Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please try to restrict responses to constructive feedback please...

I recently bought a new Monster S2R. Being a complete newbie/poseur/whatever you want to call me, I bought it at a whim before riding one.

It's much more bike then my complete lack of abilities justifies. Practice makes perfect, but I dont want to destroy the bike and/or hurt myself in the process.

The dealership talked me out of a monster 620 and 695 they had on display, insisting that i would get used to it and be very bored within weeks. I was gullible enough to listen.

With that being said, has anyone had any success detuning an S2R to a much more modest power range (without any permanent damage to the bike)?

·
Banned
7,484 Posts
Congrats on the bike and welcome to the DML. [thumbsup]

Sorry to hear you don't feel comfortable on it yet. A couple of initial things that aren't tech-related. You got gear already? If not, that's first on your list. Sign up for MSF is you haven't already done so. And try practicing in parking lots before jumping right out there. Set up cones. Practice actual skills -- braking, turning, etc. And find a group of riders in your area (there are probably DMLers around) as a resource.

In terms of de-tning, don't they have some sort of restrictor plate or something in Australia? There should be an easy way to limit your bike to only half-throttle or something. That'll "de-tune" it.

The other thing is, if you're really that concerned, it's ok to sell the bike and take the loss. I betcha the dealer would help out with a 695. There will always be a monster there for when you're ready and feel comfortable with it.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
No BS, give yourself a chance to get comfortable with the bike. Remember, the only power ANY bike will make comes from a twist of your right wrist. The only thing you need to "de-tune" is the amount of throttle you give.