Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to bikes, trying to learn. Did a basic oil (and filter) change on my 2009 696.
I used Mobil 1 v-twin 20w-50 fully synthetic 4 cycle motorcycle oil. Lubed the lip of the new filter, but did not pour any directly into it.
Granted, it's also a lot colder since I've been riding regularly (40s and 50s) but I don't want to write it off as a weather problem.

The bike has done the following every time I have started it since:
Electrically turns on normally, but when I push to start it, it will turn over, catch and then almost immediately die.
If I open up the throttle, that kills it. The choke kills it. I repeatedly try to start it until the check engine light comes on.

AND if I do get it started (in neutral) putting it into first results in a big jolt and it dies as well and then I have to restart it from first. (and yes, I have the clutch in when I put it into first, I'm not a TOTAL idiot - but effectively the bike reacts as if I dont)

·
Registered
635 Posts
I'm relatively new to bikes, trying to learn. Did a basic oil (and filter) change on my 2009 696.
I used Mobil 1 v-twin 20w-50 fully synthetic 4 cycle motorcycle oil. Lubed the lip of the new filter, but did not pour any directly into it.
Granted, it's also a lot colder since I've been riding regularly (40s and 50s) but I don't want to write it off as a weather problem.

The bike has done the following every time I have started it since:
Electrically turns on normally, but when I push to start it, it will turn over, catch and then almost immediately die.
If I open up the throttle, that kills it. The choke kills it. I repeatedly try to start it until the check engine light comes on.