Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gedday you lot...

I'm lovin' the track a lot... I'm also still very new to Ducati, but I'm thinking of buying a stacked or cheap 748/749 for use as a track bike...

Everone else seems to have the UJM so I was wanting something different and wondering if there are better years/specifications that I should be looking for....

SPS?? S?? R?? RS?? Year??

Thanks in advance....

Ita

Oh Yeah... If the right bike reared it's head I'd sell the road bike and just do 10 or 12 track days a year and give up the road!!! But I'd really like a stacked one.... (Cosmetic write off...) So I could afford to keep my S4r...

Attachments

·
Banned
7,484 Posts
The folks I know with an R or an RS as a race/track bike have pretty frequent maintenance. Not that things are going wrong, but that the intervals for maintenance are more frequent when they're being used as a track bike.

·
Registered
45,105 Posts
I'd suggest having a spare fairing and actually using that. Several people over on ducati.ms have been bitching about how hard it is to get a replacement fairing for a 999R. Buy a hotbodies race set and ride with that, keep your normal fairing for street work. Of course, you probably already thought of this. :)

·
Premium Member
234 Posts
the 748 series do need more frequent maintenance than the current 749/999 but also depends on the mods that have been done. Sometimes used race bikes have good mods and the bikes get sold off reasonably priced, just takes a little time maybe to find the right one.

·
Registered
832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ubermensch said:
the 748 series do need more frequent maintenance than the current 749/999 but also depends on the mods that have been done. Sometimes used race bikes have good mods and the bikes get sold off reasonably priced, just takes a little time maybe to find the right one.
I think and ex-race bike may be the go...