Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody,
I just got done reading the thread about touring on a monster and was blown away. It sounds like a lot of fun. With questions about gear and luggage aside, what do you all think of a rookie doing something like this. I've been riding for about 6 months on my 620. It is my first bike. I don't think I'm skilled enough to trek across the country, but I'm real interested in maybe crossing some state lines. If I rode within my limit and didn't hotdog it, does it sound like a good or bad idea?

T

·
0 Posts
skill comes with experience, so

the more you ride, the more you get.

state lines?

if we brits wanna go anywhere, its international borders for us. :eek:

just get out and RIDE
;)

·
Premium Member
186 Posts
I agree. The more you ride the more experience you gain. I would suggest limiting your riding to maybe 4 to 6 hours at the most (maybe 300 miles max). Remember to stay well hydrated. If you don't it can effect your concentration and you will get tired more quickly. Pick routes that don't stray too far off the beaten path.

If you can, invest in an emergency road service like AAA Premier. It costs a bit more but it covers towing up to 100 miles plus hotel and other costs due to travel problems.

Don't forget tools, a flashlight and other essentials.

Happy Riding!!

Uncle_Duck

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If you can, invest in an emergency road service like AAA Premier. It costs a bit more but it covers towing up to 100 miles plus hotel and other costs due to travel problems. Any idea how reliable my ducati card would be in regards to towing?

·
Premium Member
186 Posts
Didn't think of that... ::) I haven't had cause to need either AAA or the DOC road service... Maybe someone on the list has had experience with them.

Uncel_Duck

·
Registered
571 Posts
if we brits wanna go anywhere, its international borders for us. :eek: