Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know if I'm the only one with this problem. I'm really new to the Bike community... I got my first bike a 2001 monster 600 dark last summer... everytime i go to the bike shop i feel like they're pulling a fast one on me...

Does anyone have any tips on picking a mechanic? Or resources for basic motorcycle knowledge?

D

·
0 Posts
good luck man. I am "fortunate" enough to have to Ducati dealers within 15 miles of me. However, both have mechanics that are just outta duc-skool. From what I have heard, the best thing is to do it yourself, or find somebody you know that can. good luck

D

·
0 Posts
Sometimes you can get the wrong impression (like feeling they're pulling one over on you). But the most direct thing to do is ASK them what their experience is.

I've worked in bike shops for a few years now, and for the most part I've seen that mechanics really want to do a good job. There's an old saying that basically says "the first bike is sold by the salesman, the rest are sold by service".

Trust your instincts, and ask when in doubt. Watch out for up-sells. They should want to fix what needs fixing, inform you of anything else wrong that they find, be open, and do the job right. If something goes wrong, they will fix it.

Good luck. If things don't work out, be patient but don't give up- it's on them to do the job right. On the other hand, make sure you realize that you get what you pay for.

If you have any specific reason you feel uneasy, post it. Otherwise, maybe you need to get in touch with some people in your local moto community about the shop in question. As far as resources go, check the FAQ here and check out the...internet!

seeya,
Scott.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4