Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I created an account a few months back but hadn't needed to post yet. Realized I needed to introduce myself.

I've been riding for about 11 years now. I never thought I'd be into motorcycles. First bike was a cherry 1976 Triumph Bonneville 750. Great bike to get into riding. It instantly opened the door to many clubs and events based around vintage bikes. Not long after that I found myself buying every old Honda, Yamaha, Hodaka, Puch, Vespa, etc.. that came along in Austin. I was up to 30 vintage bikes within 3 years. Something had to change. I sold off a few and gave a few away. They just kept coming back.

I enjoyed riding and enjoyed being part of the vintage "scene". The old timer rallies were a lot of fun. Then one day a new rally in the area was organized. A person, soon to become a close friend, lost a daughter to cancer. To thank the Candle Lighters for all the help they had provided to his family he organized a rally with all the proceeds being donated to that charity. I attended the first rally and had a blast. It was freezing rain the entire time, if you knew that it was about 80 the week before you'd understand how miserable that was. The next year I offered to sponsor the event. This in turn led me to become the Platinum sponsor for this rally. I continued to sponsor it with cash for several years. A few years back I began adding restored motorcycles as part of the raffle prizes. The first bike I donated was a restored Vespa blue badge small frame scooter. The next was a rare little Yamaha YS1a twin. Last year was a matching pair of CZ 175's. This year I bought a 2000 Ducati Monster 750 to give away. Thought it would be nice to give away a street worthy bike. I got it on the cheap as the owner thought the clutches were out.