Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. My normal ride is a 2002 HONDA VFR 800 but I'm looking at a Monster 620 for my wife's first bike (she's completed the MSF course and has ridden before).

I took a 2003 620 out for a test ride today and was very impressed. The bike ran great, sounded great and stopped great. My VFR is smoother, but to a fault, you can lose the sense you are on a motorcycle. I really liked the Monster for nailing the essence of motorcycling. We are probably going to buy it but have a couple of questions about the bike the dealership c/n answer (I knew more about the bike than the saleman):

The bike is being listed as a used 2003, but the mileage is noted as, "please call for details." I've been to the dealership twice and the salesperson could not tell me the mileage.

When the salesperson fired up the bike the odometer said "0" for total miles. I played around with the left hand button on the dash pod and could get the odometer to cycle between the "total" and "trip" miles. The total mileage stayed at 0 (increasing to 8 after I finished my test ride). The trip meter had something like 8.3 miles on it when I finished.

I'm beginning to wonder if this may be a new bike because in addition to this the chain still had its wax on it. Also the salesperson could not start the bike at first. The shop mechanic got it started with a red key to defeat the immobilizer. The bike would not start with the other keys.

I looked through the Ducati owners manual on-line but it was very confusing about how to start the bike the first time and what use the red key is. I also checked the FAQ and boards on this site without success.

So, my question is do you think this is a brand new bike or am I sufficiently confused by Italian machinery that it has fooled me? It

S

·
0 Posts