Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tell me a kick only Monster wouldn't rule so very hard. Probably only work on the carbies but still. Yeah, they suck when things aren't working right. But, when its right, d**n it feels good to boot an engine to life. 8)

·
Registered
6,266 Posts
You need to try to kickstart an old 860 then. Youd be lovin the electric start .

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Its not as glamorous as it looks... Though there was something cool about kickstarting my CB550 when it was warmed up.

·
Registered
969 Posts
I like the idea...except for the "only" part. I'd rather still have the electric foot and the kick start option as well.

I also think that the headlight should not come on until the bike engine is running. I'm no electrical engineer...but how hard would that be to accomplish?

G

·
I've been looking at old thumpers on ebay partly becuz I miss kick-starting a bike. You know we're showing our age here - most of the board members here probably have never kick-started a bike.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Most probably have never seen one. [laugh]

·
Premium Member
6,957 Posts
ive got an 04 KLR250 that has been sitting for awhile and doesnt want to start.
you could come by my place and kickstart that for awhile if you want >:D

·
Registered
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Dunno about you old farts, but I'm only 26. [laugh]

If someone made one and it didn't cost roughly the same as the rest of my bike, I'd buy it in a heartbeat. :-\

MH, only if I get to keep it if I get it running. [laugh]

·
Registered
124 Posts
bullet boy said:
I've been looking at old thumpers on ebay partly becuz I miss kick-starting a bike. You know we're showing our age here - most of the board members here probably have never kick-started a bike.
jswledhed said:
Dunno about you old farts, but I'm only 26. [laugh]