Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As this is my first post, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Will Ratzlaff, and I'm the guy on the yellow Monster with carbon low-pipes as seen by a black Volvo wagon about 2 weeks ago, and was also seen in A.G. at Jack in the Box a few months back. Why I haven't posted until now, I don't know. But anyways...

The reason for my posting, and I sincerely hope it's appropriate to ask this on here, is I need some serious mechanical help with my Monster. I am a starving Cal Poly student, and can't afford to have it professionally worked on, and all my tools are at my parent's ranch 200 miles away. I know cars well enough that I built and installed a 390 for my dad's '65 Ford, but have never worked on a motorcycle. I am wondering if there's anyone out there that would be willing to donate their knowledge and time (and garage, as I live in an apartment and they won't let me wrench *stupid*) in exchange for knowing you've helped out a fellow person. (and gained a riding buddy?)

If you're interested, I've got a 2000 Ducati Monster 900 S ie. 29,500miles.

The general problems i'm having are:

Tach doesn't work, spedo does.
High idle with choke off, estimated around 3-4K RPM. Changing choke position makes no difference.
Sometimes starts on first try, sometimes acts like there's a dead battery and won't turn over (batt is 4 months old), happens whether or not it is cold, or been ridden a distance.
Runs VERY poorly, cuts out a lot, misses horridly under 4-5K RPM (est), makes it hard to ride.

I've been putting about 1,500 miles a month on it since I bought it in July, and rely heavily on it to get to work, school and the rare chance I actually get to go home to visit family. So any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
6,149 Posts
welcome to the club (i was the black volvo)