Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Monster is back today, after being at FBF all week for new tires.( I was making friends with the Speed Four all week!)

I am not an aggressive rider on the street and most my riding is back and forth to work. Is there a manual way of scrubbing in new tires.

·
Registered
376 Posts
Now, I won't swear to it, but I'm pretty sure that I read here on the board about some people taking a sander to the tires to scrub off the mold release compound. Don't take that as gospel, but I think I remember that. :)

H

·
0 Posts
Deb, You need to remove the mold release agent from the tire. The best way to scrub in a new bunn, is to take it slow, and gradually increase lean angle around the turns. I have heard of people using a scotch-brite pad, but I've no first hand experience with that approach. Just take it slow, and you'll be fine.

BTW, if you want to get rid of the chicken strips before the track day, I'd be glad to flog your bike around on Saturday! ;D

·
Premium Member
4,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Herb, if I let all the people who offer to "flog " my bike around to scrub the tires on Saturday, I will be putting new ones on with Team Pro Motion on Sunday!! LOL ;D [smiley=laugh.gif]

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
doing it manually also lets you scrub your chicken strip
down as far as you like.

·
Premium Member
4,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I was really thinking of the scotch brite pad for the sides, cause my lean angle isn't the greatest.

I do think that one of the instructors from TPM will take your bike out for a lap or 2 to scrub them in.

·
Registered
796 Posts
I use 220 grit sand paper to lightly scrub them in before a ride. I have heard the organic degreasers like orange clean work but have never tried that.

B

·
0 Posts