Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dudes, new to the forum. Long time Ducati-curious man of moderate riding ability with lengthy background in off-road & MTB enduro disciplnes seeking Monster S4 of the Rt/ RS variety. I have lusted for the S4R since they first came out. I was a burned out catering manager sitting in a medical program in an attempt to reinvent myself. I sat & day dreamed over the desirable things during breaks or after finals.

Looking for a backroad funday bike for day trips, group rides, & something to haul up to the mountains with my CRF450X for dirt/ pavement combo weekends. Trackdays may be in the future, but are not a priority for now. Located in Houston, TX, so any S4Rt/ RS owners in Texas willing to discuss more in person & allow me to evaluate the ergos would be reiumbursed in beverages or tacos of choice.

I have done a decent amount of searching & research here, but please forgive any questions found in the FAQs. Serious questions are:
- Rt vs. RS motor: thinking full pipe, ECU, airbox stuff should get any Rt/ RS motor to a more than happy place for me. Thoughts?
- wheels: Rt wheels look the same as RS, but info says they ARE different/ lighter on the RS?
- belts: is the hard rule still replace them every 2 years regardless of miles? A few used ones boast less than 1000 miles since belts were done 4 years ago. Not afraid of doing it, but I could certainly use that info in negotiations
- belt swap: I can change a moto clutch, so I'm guessing it can be done in my garage?
- ergos & comfort: relatively speaking, of course. I'm not looking to do Iron Butt miles. 5' 8" tall & wasn't in love with the 1200S I rode last week fit wise. Seems like the S bikes fit better for shorter riders?
- tank stripes: these are decals, right? I've seen a few bubbling up near the filler opening