Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A quick and perhaps silly one: do I need to buy the specific tool or any metric socket of the right size will work to undo the rear axle nut, please?

·
Registered
10 Posts
S4Rs takes a 46mm socket for removal. It is best to use a wheel removal socket specifically made for this job so the socket doesn't jump off the nut. I bought mine through Corsair-Industries.com. Get the six sided one. It's money well spent They make a lot of great tools for Ducatis. Beware of cheap ones on the market. Good luck. That nut is torqued down sometimes over 140 ft/lbs.

·
Premium Member
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks andy, I appreciate the info!

·
Registered
10 Posts
I noticed that you sold your 1098. The S4Rs seating position is pretty aggressive too.

PS: I just corrected my signature. It's an 08 S4rs Tricolore and an 07 1098 Tricolore. I've been riding since the early 1960's and have owned a number of early ducatis.

·
Premium Member
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·