Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am pondering the question whether a S2R 1000 will be too much for a first time monster owner, as I hope to be in a few short months. I am fairly new to riding (couple months) and now am on a Honda CB250 to get my skills up to par. I feel like I have pretty good throttle, clutch, and steering control, so after a few months I am going to upgrade to a monster. The question is which one? Anybody been in a similar bind and want to share some advice?

·
Registered
165 Posts
Ya know, the throttle twist both ways. What I mean is the weight is not that different, the power from 695-S4R is all manageable. Get what fits your pocket book and don't let the additional power worry you.

·
Registered
286 Posts
Sounds like your on the right path to me.Since you've been riding __ amount of miles.The only thing that would worry me for you would be trottle control.Everything else is close to the same or insignificant,handling,top speed ,brakes,...Just be smoooooooth. [thumbsup]

power management difficulty scale for monsters IMO,
1------2-------3-------4--------5-------6------7------8-------9------10
695 S2R S2R1 S4R S4RS

·
Premium Member
3,677 Posts
IMHO:

S2R 800 (-) wussy front brakes that need replacing
S2R 800 (-) wussy front brakes that need replacing edited to repeat this important point... brake upgrade can cost $1000
S2R 800 (+) amazingly well done "carburetion" from the EFI, giving supremely smooth in town manners. This also makes a grin come on my face everytime I ride my S2R800.
S2R 800 (+) lower rpm torque feels more powerful than an 800 "should be"
S2R 800 (+) wet clutch with slipper - I like the quiet from it
S2R 800 (+) arrow pipes sound awesome and don't require changing the mixture. (likely same for any exhaust mod)
S2R 800 (+) ultra light clutch pull
S2R 800 (+/-) "only" goes 135 mph

S2R1K (+) comes with real brakes.