Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings! I'm a noob to the Ducati family (picking up an 06 S2R 800 this weekend) and I've got a couple quick questions for the board. Please pity the noob. Actually, I'm a re-noob, as this is my 8th street bike. I rode for about 20 years on various standards and sportbikes and did lots of trackdays until a freak accident in 2000 left me with a destroyed right leg. Recovery, kids growing, and work kept me from jumping back into motorcycling. Time's come.

I've searched the board on these topics and found some good info, but not exactly what I'm looking for. My questions relate to exhausts. I actually love the look of the stock exhaust, but not the sound.

First, for those of you who've done just the Arrow slip-ons, do they sound as good as the full systems? I'm looking to open up the sound a bit, but don't need the full system unless it really sounds a lot better and/or really improves performance. I've heard clips of the full system and it sounds great. Not a huge fan of the

Second, for those with the Arrow full system, did the new pipes improve the right foot placement issue at all? I've got big feet and would love more room there.

Third, do you need any fuel remapping/airbox work to run the Arrow full system or is it bolt and go?

Fourth, has anyone installed the Arrow full system themselves and, if so, how easy was the process?

Thanks in advance for any advice/opinions. I'm probably gonna do suspension work as well, but I want to live with the bike a while before I decide what to do in that regard.

·
Registered
326 Posts
I've pulled the pipes on my S2R and love the sound. The looks are only so-so without the pipes. I added some slash-cut tips and it looks OK, right peg feels normal now. I would mod the stock cans BUT now that I am used to the right peg without the stock pipes I don't think I could go back.