Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Monster world and have wanted one since I was living in Italy and soon enough it will happen but I have a question that I hope will be answerer here.
How is it ridding with two people on the Monster? I know that it is capable of doing it but is it comfortable and more importantly is it reccomended? Does it destabilize the bike to such an extent that it would be dangerous?
Any info would be appreciated

·
Registered
376 Posts
Yes, it's possible
No, it's not comfortable (with the stock seat)
Yes, it does destabilize the bike if the rider and passenger are too heavy, you can check the weight ratings in the owner's manual.
I've allowed passengers, but I don't particularly care for the feeling of having them on the back, I'm pretty heavy, and if I get someone over 100 pounds, I can really feel the difference.

·
Premium Member
1,488 Posts
I ride 2 up all the time, no problems. It sucked with the stock seat though, I thought the stock seat was a torture device to begin with, but with a passenger it was truly awful. I couldn't even ride 2 block without having the passenger slide forward and totally smashing my nuts against the tank. Now that I have a Corbin all is very nice. The only other thing I would worry about is suspension. If you're suspension isn't dialed in properly already for you, it will be VERY soft with a passenger.

W

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I came across this page one time about riding 2-up on a monster. It was by this woman who had been subjected to the rear end treatment (ok, that was cheap) on more than one occasion. It's pretty good... funny diagrams.

·
Registered
856 Posts
I ride with a passenger quite often and I have to say it's not the best for anything longer than 20 min especially somewhere with a lot of stop lights and stop signs.

A few things to remember: