Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Between travel (for work) and the colder weather, I've been off my 620 for a couple of months. As a new rider (just started in May), I wanted to at least get a few rides in over the winter. Fortunately, last sunday was pretty warm so I went out for a ride.

I'm not very aggressive since I'm still learning the ropes. That said, I felt pretty comfortable despite my short hiatus. There was one nagging feeling that I couldn't shake this last ride. It's kinda hard to describe, so bear with me ...

Essentially, I kept having the *feeling* that the rear wheel was trying to swing out - during regular acceleration in a straight line. I don't know why, but I felt very disconnected from the rear of the bike - it kept *feeling* like it was going to fishtail out. I say *feeling* because it didn't slide out so it could have just been my imagination.

I was NOT twisting the throttle hard, it was just standard acceleration. The road surface was dry and clear. The strangest thing was that I was going in a straight line.

It was almost like my front tire wasn't going fast enough for the rear ...

When I got home I double checked my tire pressure, but that seemed fine. Am I nuts? Any advice is appreciated ...

·
Premium Member
2,406 Posts
I had that same thing a few months ago. Kept stopping to check the tire, did a visual inspection of the tire alignment. Couldn't figure it out at all.

After 350 miles and a few hours of being home I went back out and checked everything again and couldn't find anything. BUT then on a whim I checked the shock and the . . . my god my brain just went blank . . . thingies you crank on to make adjustments had worked themselves loose and my preload was wrong.

You might check that. HOWEVER, I have just had off days when things haven't felt right and there was no mechanical reason for it.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts