Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
re: first bike

Hello all. I posted a little while ago about some good opportunities but a couple slipped away from me. I was wondering if anyone has a suggested location to purchase a used monster. I want to get something between 2002-2005. Also what are your suggestions for purchasing a used bike? Should it be only from a local seller? Should I only purchase from a dealer? Should I take the bike to Ducati of Miami for an inspection prior to purchasing?

thanks,

ben

·
Registered
238 Posts
I did bought a used bike not so long ago. It is actually my first bike and I'm not a mechanic engeneer.

Things that I looked for was looks. I wanted a bike that I could watch for hours without getting bored. Then I looked at mileage, service, modification and price.

THEN I brought it to a DUCATI dealer and got it inspected. I got him to give me a list of what's to be done now, in a few thousands mile and later.

Dealed the price with that new information and ended up buying a
'02 Senna S4.

I went with my heart and guts first and then followed with my head to take the best dicision for ME at this time.

Never regretted it anyhow.

GL

·
Registered
72 Posts
The worse thing you have to keep an eye on is for is a hidden lemon especially if it's your first bike. I don't know how often something like that happens but you never know. Also when buying off Craigslist ask them directly "Does this bike have a clean title?" MAKE SURE THE BIKE DOES NOT HAVE A SALVAGED TITLE. Salvaged bikes can be a good deal for the right people but I wouldn't recommend one as a first bike. If you don't know what that means google it. Sometimes the owner will lure you to come see the bike and after you're in love with it mention that is has a salvaged title (happened to me.) The old saying applies: anything too good to be true, is.