Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question re: clutch replacement (don't click if you're just gonna say "search")

My clutch is starting to go out on me. I am a student (meaning low on cash) and this is my daily driver, so I can't afford to have my bike sitting in pieces while I wait for parts that I forgot.

My main interest is economy, not performance.

Given these circumstances, I was hoping for some advice specific to my situation. I've read the how-to threads and have a Haynes manual, but knowing me I would forget to order a part that might need to be replaced, and I haven't found much info on options as far as what parts to buy to save money versus spending more for upgraded performance.

If anyone is feeling philanthropic, could you please help me out with a list of parts to buy online? A plus would be a good (cheap) place to buy them from. Any tips or tricks would be helpful too, but I can find those in the how-to threads.

Also, what tools do I need? Anything special?

2000 Monster 750 Dark. 20k miles

Oil last replaced with the oil recommended by my local dealer.

Symptoms: Slips when trying to out-accelerate porsches after splitting to the front of the intersection & when nailing the throttle in top gear on the highway. Starting to get difficult to find neutral and jerks forward (slightly) when popping it into first.

·
Banned
7,484 Posts
Re: Question re: clutch replacement (don't click if you're just gonna say "search")

model, year and mileage?

Do you have a wet clutch and did you recently change oil using car-specific oil?

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Question re: clutch replacement (don't click if you're just gonna say "search")

Spidey said:
model, year and mileage?

Do you have a wet clutch and did you recently change oil using car-specific oil?
Oh god. What a moronic mistake. I've added that info to the post. Thanks for the heads up.

·
Banned