Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm new to this joint and new to Ducatisti, but already loving my Monster..I've got a '99 900 and want to powdercoat the wheels--but realize the cush drive dampers won't come out of the wheel. I don't want to destroy them because it would cost me $120 to replace all of them..Anybody have any experience with this problem? I know I'm not the only one in the world that has wanted to powdercoat the Brembo wheel--standard on Monsters and Supersports for years..Am I going to have to bite the bullet and shell out the shillings for new dampers? Thanks --CZ

·
Premium Member
6,957 Posts
Disclaimer- I am not mechanical.

but, i think that that only thing that needs replaced when P/C wheels is the bearings.
(somebody smarter will be along shortly with the real answer)

ps my bike is completely apart with everything BUT the wheels getting powdercoated :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks man...The bearings, yes...The cush drive dampers are pressed in---I tried to beat them out from the other side, to no avail. They have to come out because they are composed of rubber which will melt in the powdercoaters 400 degree oven...I've almost given up...May just settle for the ugly gray/silver..

·
Registered
434 Posts
I had the same problem and was told by another Ducati owner that you can leave them in, I did and they came though just fine. That was over 2 years ago. It's pretty much impossible to remove them without destroying them, so you may as well leave them in and see how they come out.

Mark

·
Premium Member
2,952 Posts
I bought a spare wheel that was already powdercoated. It has what looks like original cush rubbers in it and they look good and resilient.