Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,
I may or may not become a newbie here depending on what I decide to do on Tuesday...

I'm in my mid 40s and have ridden all kinds of bikes over the last 30 years or so. Today I have been out shopping for a "sundays" fun bike as the touring with the wife will probably be reduced quite a bit over the next few years at least. Wow, "naked" sport bikes have come a long way (my last bike of that kind was a 99 ZRX1100)

Long story short it comes down to a "new" zero miles '08 FZ-1 or a '04 Monster S4R with 6500 miles, "recently serviced". Both to be had for about the same $$.

I rode both bikes twice for about 20 minutes each and came away very impressed with the FZ-1, sneaky fast, very elastic motor, smooth, but the handling wasn't perfect - tendency to fall into the corners a bit (just like my old FJ1200 used to do) and a little loose rear end on bumpy stuff.

The Monster of course with Ohlins all around was planted and nimble like, well, a bike with top-notch suspension. The engine is more brutal in response, less refined and therefore may feel a bit faster but I don't think it actually is. Coolness factor of course is 10:1 for the Duc.

The FZ-1 is the more 'resonable choice' but the Ducati would be the emotional choice. I'm just a little afraid of maintenance and cost of ownership.

Any input, including what to check for on the Duc, will be appreciated.

·
Registered
203 Posts