Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to the Ducati dry clutch and am wondering...what, apart from style, is the benefit of opening the clutch cover? Is there any negative effects or precautions you got to take? i.e. like you can't get caught in the rain or dust storm for fear of getting water or dust in there? Thanks.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Hi!

The main purpose for opening the clutch cover is defenitly for style.

The clutch pack itself will run cooler because of the wind entering in it, you can see that as a benefit.

On the counterpart, if you're living in a raining area, you might want to keep your clutch covered as for too much water (or sand as you stated) in the clucth pack wouldn't be good.

Also, in a crash event, an opened clutch cover would leave your clucth pack less protected and then more suitable to receive damage.

·
Registered
58 Posts
In addition to rain and dust, I was wondering how easy is to get you pants cut into open clutch? Is it frequent or rare occurrence?

·
Registered
238 Posts
As far as I know, never heard any stories regarding this issue. The «elephant pants» should be left in the closet though;) The opened clutch covers are still somehow present (depending on the model you choose) and gives a protection on this.

I've heard small enfant amazed by the turning pressure plate and trying to grab it:eek: . So be aware if the situation apply.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Hi, I am new to the Ducati dry clutch and am wondering...what, apart from style, is the benefit of opening the clutch cover? Is there any negative effects or precautions you got to take? i.e. like you can't get caught in the rain or dust storm for fear of getting water or dust in there? Thanks.
Make sure you HEAR one before spending the money on an open cover. You have to like the CLACK-CLACK-CLACK sound of an open clutch.