Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am also really really wanting a Monster. I'm a newbie. This will be my first bike. I was just wondering if anyone can give an idea of what the actual maintinance costs are, and how frequent? My nearest dealer is 1.5 hours away :(. And is not having a tachometer a big problem? Also, I'm looking at getting an older Monster, just cause I konw I'll rash it at some point. Like a 97-99 or something, are there issues with the older Ducati's? What should I look out for when I'm looking? If maintinance costs are too high...I think I'll just have to get the SV650 . Great bike....but after seeing the guy at my place with a Black/Dark Monster.....I'm in love. I like the comment about the model with a cocaine habbit.....call me shallow....but we all die sometime.....just have the most fun while you're here. ;D

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
This general subject has come up in dozens of different topics over the past few months. You might want to do a little research first.

I went 6 years on my 1997 with no unscheduled maintenance other than tires. I just barely had my forks revalved, since they were no longer working right after nearly 20,000 miles. They're now better than new.

Change the oil every 3000 miles, which you can easily do yourself at a cost of round $20.00. The 6000 and 18,000 mile services cost about $300. The 12,000 and 24,000 mile services are closer to $600.

The older ones have a little more character than the newer ones. There's no real reason not to consider all the way back to 1994. They didn't really change that much until 1999.

·
Premium Member
2,952 Posts
I've had my 95 about a year and three months and 3,000 miles. Other than stuff I've screwed up and normal wear items it has been reliable and great fun. As i've fixed little things that were out of adjustment or almost worn out when I got it, I've found that it actually runs better and better with time and care.