Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

Oil Change Question

3K views 18 replies 4 participants last post by  Duc96cr 
#1 ·
Hey guys quick (and probably stupid) question for you all. When you go to change the oil do you use a maintenance stand (rear wheel) or do you get someone to hold the bike level? I realize when filling it needs to be upright, but when it’s on the stand versus off it shows two different quantities of oil. Thanks in advance!

#3 ·
I use the maintenance stand... Since I have it.

Ducati have the side stand bolted to the crankcase (that saves weight but it's some times can cause some oil leaks) so for me it's not an option to leave the bike too long on the side stand (that's the reason I bought the maintenance stand)... But that's just me.

#5 ·
Side stand causes oil leaks?? how??. I've been parking my bikes on the side stand for 40 years, never caused an oil leak? please explain!!!.
Normally it shouldn't, but since it's a aluminium crankcase (at least mine 1100 is) and the side stand is bolted to that, if it (the side stand) suffer some excessive force, for some reason, it can "crack" the crankcase.

It happen to me, and accordingly to my mechanic it wasn't the first he saw.

On a quick search online:
crankcase cracked

Reactions: Pullbackchap
#6 ·
suffer some excessive force,
Of course your are right, Drop the bike or have an accident can break anything. But consider this, everything is bolted to the engine, the frame, the swing arm, the engine is central to the structure of a Ducati, unlike Harleys or Triumphs which use the full cradle frame, obviously, to save weight and make Ducati's one of the best handling bikes in the world.

What on earth has this to to do with a simple oil change question? leaving the bike parked on it's side stand in no way can break anything, or make the engine leak oil.
we all try to help, even though some questions border on the, well obvious, or even stupid.