Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

301 - 320 of 320 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
For now I want a Map that is has had more than just the basic one from from power commander. Are you telling me an 1100 will work in the 796?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
No, the map I have wouldn't work with your bike. You could try it if you like as I'd be more than happy to send it to you but you would have to block out the section of the map where the o2 optimizers "trick" the ECU into running richer. The optimizers are supplied as a work around the reflash. The PCV really isn't there to add a bunch of power in the top end. It's purpose is to smooth out the entire RPM range and +/- fuel as required to achieve maximum horsepower. The only true way to tune your bike and build a map for max HP is on a dyno. To be honest, the Map that PwrCmdr has on their site is likely the best match to what you have until you reflash. You can play around with the fuel trims yourself above the 5k rpm range and do some "seat of the pants" trimming to your liking. I soon realized that the PCV alone was really not a worthy investment without the ECU reflash. Once reflashed and some dyno time booked you could then get to where you want to be. Once you get on a dyno you will see how "fat" your bike likes to run and with the addition of the Autotune you can then keep your bike in tune based on changes in air temp, density, engine temp, etc... Then you will feel your bike come alive and put giant smiles in your helmet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
Thanks Ducpilot, I will try the PCV map and see how she is. End goal is not so much more power as to richen up a bit. It sucks about the sub 4k region, the optimizers should be better than stock. Thanks again.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
173 Posts
is anybody running the Bazzaz tuner, I have been looking at that setup for my Hyper 1100, they say that it will let you tune below the 5500 rpm mark, and that is where im wantting it, its rough and very lean which makes slow manuvers fun and decels a pain in the ass, cant stand the popping..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
The Bazzaz is awesome! If there is one for your HYPER 1100, get it, I find it allows you more options than PCV, but the PCV does fix the issues you are talking about. Just make sure that Bazzaz makes one for your model, some Ducs are wired different, I found out the hard way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
well i have the PCV and the auto tune and my ECU has been refashed have not installed the PCV or the auto tune still need to pull both O2 sensors out and add the two auto tune sensors but i am to understant this should be about the best you can get so i hope this fixes my bike this year it just got its 7500 mile tune up at the dealer so it should run like a champ i will updat you all on this when i am done in a month or two it is still 5 deg here in the morning and 25 in the afternoon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
no i have not installed them yet but i did do a few short rides with out the slipons for a few days and then i put it away it will be hard to go back to a muffler after that sounded great any how i suspect i will put it all together next week so i will update i will need some help with the PCV settings i will use the auto tune but i am not looking for power because i have enough of that i just want her to run smooth and be loud
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
I have a 2012 Monster 1100 EVO and if anyone has a similar setup that they have had dynotuned with a PCV I'd appreciate the map.

2009-2012 Monster 1100 map with similar mods

PCV with autotune
Rexxer/Motowheels Reflashed ECU
Deleted O2 sensors
Deleted exhaust flapper valve
Spark High Mount exhaust
MWR air filter
Removed top air box cover

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
I just bought the two bros black series slip ons for my 2012 796 monster and I'm also doing the 14T mod.

Does my bike have Siemens self learning computer?

Will my bike be ok or will I need my ecu flashed?

85% of this bikes riding will be at 4250' elevation give or take 500'
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Power Commander overriding higher rev limit of flashed ECU

Has anyone had an issue with the power commander overriding the higher rev limit? At first I was not sure what was the cause. I could fix this problem by turning on then off the bike (sometimes). Now it appears to be the case all the time. Someone familiar with flashed ECU's suggest the PC-V was the culprit. I plan to disconnect my Power Commander with Autotune because it has already been tuning the bike for several months. Perhaps I can answer my own question next week, when I get back home from the coast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
I connected the new power commander software to my module. I had not done this in a long time. The new X-tend feature will show the rev limit. (M1100 can not use the X-tend feature, but it still shows the rev limit of the bike.) On my bike, it shows the rev limit at 9500 instead of 8500, so it appears the extra 1000 rpm before redline we added with the flash is still available. I guess I was just seeing it "seem" to redline at 8500 because it only takes a fraction of a second to run right past 8500 to over 9500. So the bike probably has not returned to the old rev limit all the time. (It may be intermittently returning to the old rev limit. I am still researching this.) I just rode it and it seemed I was able to get above 8500 on several occasions. In any event, it does not appear to be a problem with the power commander as it recognizes the re-flashed higher rev limit. I suspect the problem is either my faulty shifting technique or some other factor. Removing the power commander would not have been a good idea because I have removed the air box after I had the ECU flashed. The bike ran fine with the flashed ecu and an aftermarket foam filter in the box, but now the open K&N filters push thru a lot more air. The power commander with autotune seems to tune the air/fuel well for this new more open configuration. Frankly, I would much rather have the correctly tuned air/fuel mix than the extra rpm [since I have no business going that fast anyway].
The main purpose of the flash was to eliminate the O2 sensor so I could eventually add the power commander to tune the entire rpm range. This seems to be working well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
I just bought the two bros black series slip ons for my 2012 796 monster and I'm also doing the 14T mod.

Does my bike have Siemens self learning computer?

Will my bike be ok or will I need my ecu flashed?

85% of this bikes riding will be at 4250' elevation give or take 500'
You don't need a Flash, unless you want to tune the lower RPM range or and delete the O2 and Flapper motor CEL! All you might need is a piggy back EFI tuner of your choice, in no particular order...Bazzaz, Power Commander 5, and I believe the Two Bros make one now? There are few others, but the ones mentioned are the most popular. That being said, I like the features of the Bazzaz better :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
I don't know the answer to your question. I am guessing that exhaust you mentioned will result in better air flow which will result in a leaner air / fuel mix. But adding the altitude you mention, I will assume less O2 will be available. Will these two counter forces allow the stock ECU to compensate more easily? I think this can only be determined empirically. If you get backfiring and junk then you'll need to take a next step. I took several steps to get to my current config, which I'm really happy with. (And you know you needed to get rid if those hideous stock cans any way!)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Hmm, I not sure I fully understand this post and I'm fairly bright (although not a mechanic!).

What I want, is to be able to get more power fairly safely from my Ducati monster 695 - can I 'chip' the ECU of my bike like you can with most cars to improve the fuel management of it?

thanks

Dan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
need some help

hi, I'm new here and I am facing a problem with my ecu on my 695 monster. suddenly stopped functioning the horizontal cylinder. I found that the problem is from the ecu (cause I tried my ecu on other 695 and the result was the same). Therefore, I am asking for your help...I want to try to burn a stock 695 map, on a 5AM ecu. Could you help me please with a stock ecu map (.bin file)?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
2008 S4RS Spark full system-tune

Hi, i have just recently purchased a 2008 S4RS with termi cans / ECU/ Airbox mod. I then installed a Sparks full system to mate with the termis. It was recommended to me to get the ECU reflashed to suit the new pipes and then complete the set up by getting it tuned in the 1000- 4000 rpm range. Before i got around to getting it tuned below 4000 rpm it ran like a sack of S...t Popping and farting and very hard to ride around town ( 1000-4000 rpm) I have since had it tuned at Ducati City Melbourne and it is a transformed bike. It is such a different bike to ride now and so much better. Just my two cents worth
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Hello everyone, I'm new to this so I hope everyone is having a good winter (nearly time to get the bike out :D)

anyway I was wondering if anyone had a good AFR Table for the PowerCommander V Autotune Kit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
144 Posts
As a rider buying an S4RS today, PC III no longer available, though microtec m197 still seems to be... not wanting to just "load a map", having had all previous cars/bikes dyno tuned, and noted that the below 5000rpm tuning means a DP ecu is needed to do away with the O2 sensor interference, I bought one. Local Duc dealer fitted it, but didn't disconnect O2 sensor. Collected it, rode 200k, and the bike started acting up, running poorly. Today, followed the O2 sensor lead and unplugged it. What a difference. So much so may not bother with the dyno.

People are still doing this sort of thing, not just to new bikes.
 
301 - 320 of 320 Posts
Top