Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the bike scene and really look forward to getting into it. I was looking at getting a first bike and everything is pointing to the new ducati monster 620. What do you think of a monster as a beginner bike. If you have other bikes would like to suggest it would be much appritiated. Keep in mind im 21, perfect driving record. help me out!!! :D

·
Premium Member
1,284 Posts
Keep it relatively small. The 620 would be a good pick, now the 695 if you are buying new. Get gear before or while you are purchasing your bike. Wear it. All the time.

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a bunch man. btw whats the price range on the 07? I called insurance and the ducati made me smile heh. 1100 a year not too shabby.. compared to the gsxr 600 fkn 3400 a year

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Search around a bit, this topic's been covered numberous times.

But, if you want the short version. There's two schools of thought:

* No 600+cc biek is a goot 1st bike. Get a beater 250 or 400 ride the snot out of the for a year and sell at the same price you bought

* 620 (695) are fine for beginners.

Personally I'm in camp #2, since I picked up a 620 as my 1st bike. I knocked out nearly 4k spill free miles in under 4 months.. and bought me a 900. Another 1k on there sans issue.

But, as noted, always gear it (you) up. It keeps the gremlins away

·
Registered
979 Posts
Take the MSF course. Also, call lots of insurance companies to get quotes, they are quite varied.

The 620 is a great first bike-it was mine! Maybe a little much, but if you've driven 6 years without any accidents or tickets, then you probably have the self control (right wrist control) to keep it at a manageable level.

Shiny side up.

·
Banned
519 Posts