G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to Ducs, not to riding. ;)

Ok, here's what I'm looking at - two '03 M800's:
Dark: $8,550 (black - my favorite)
S: $8,763 (red)

Thats "out the door" pricing.

From what I gather, the S has a fairing, seat cowel, and different rear shock when compared to the dark...so the S seems like the better deal. I could care less about the seat cowl, and probably the shock too. So the question is, how much does that OEM fairing cost? I searched the FAQ and found some for $170ish but I have no idea if thats OEM Ducati. I'm trying to compare apples to apples to make a decision...

Next question. Where can I buy the Termignoli (sorry if I just slaughtered the name) slip ons? I'd like to have a pair waiting for me as soon as I get the bike home.

Thanks in advance guys! Hopefully I'll be joining your ranks soon...

I'm in Houston, TX btw.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Re: Noob needs help making M800 purchasing decisio

Not too sure about fairing price, some variation among sources.

There are a lot of can choices besides Termi's. Sil Motor and Arrow are fairly popular choices. You should also look into "Stratified" cans. Strati is a frequent contributor to this list and has a very attractive alternative in the form of a modified stock can.

Next question.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Thanks for the input! I actually browsed the board hard yesterday, including the FAQ. The modified stock cans certainly looked tempting - but I was looking for a quick/easy no brainer option in the Termignolis. That racous sound is a huge part of why I'm buying a Duc in the first place.

As a side note, I spent most of the morning scouring the zillions of "battery" posts. I'll be sure to check that out before taking delivery!

·
Registered
184 Posts

Ken ill send you some pics of my bike a 800 03 dark with sils low mounts when i get home tonight.. ill try and make a small vid for you of the the sound etc and fire it off to you if you like.