Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading through the forum for a while, I wasnt able to find answers to a couple of questions, and I was hopeing you guys would be able to help me out.

Ive been riding for 15 years and just a couple of the twins that I have owned have been a 1700 Road Star warrior, RC 51, and most recently a Buell Lightning xb12. I only mentioned the above so you didnt think I was a total newb.

Any way I'm ready to buy my first monster, but I'm stuck between the 800 s2r and the 1000 s2r. What ever the decision is, either bike will get the mandatory exhaust, chip, and air cleaner.

Is the difference in power worth it, if I were to buy the 1000 over the 800?

I dont care about cost the difference, at this point it is minimal to me, and with in my budget. The only thing I can compare it to is the Buell's and I know you guys around here seem to hate those, sorry.

But with that in mind the Buell 12 is a lot of bike and the 9 is good but sometimes leaves you wanting more, especially on the straights when riding with the I-4s'. In the corners it dosent matter because thats where I like to ride.

The guy at the dealership stated that the new 800 is just as powerful as the older 900, and that I didnt need the 1000. Then again he could have been trying to move his inventory as well.

I normally ride agressive ( not fast ) and take corners hard, with the occasional wheelie now and again, but most of my riding is just that,- riding, for fun.

Opinions, and guidance would be very appreciated.

Thanks guys - John

·
Registered
56 Posts
Johnny Lightning said:
I dont care about cost the difference, at this point it is minimal to me, and with in my budget. The only thing I can compare it to is the Buell's and I know you guys around here seem to hate those, sorry.
If the money doesn't matter to you, more HP = more better in my book.