Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding after a 15 year break. I am riding my old 2002 M750. I had it totally tuned, new tires, and purchased new gear. I’ve spent a couple of months in city traffic and parking lot practice. I’m confident with the slow maneuvers and city traffic but not doing well at speeds above 45, and I slow down too much approaching curves that are sweeping and easy. Part of the issue I’m running into is the gearing. I can go 45 in third and the gyro effect makes me feel planted. When I do into 4th the revs drop way down and that shakes my confidence for some reason. Any advice? I’m gripping the tank and trying to remind myself to look down the road. It’s a bit hard to practice highway riding as I feel I’m creating a hazard.

·
Super Moderator
3,939 Posts
Just keep practicing, and reminding yourself. I think you're on the right track. And it's better to be too careful and slow than the other way around. Also note that the bike you have is short, light, responsive, and has wide handlebars for easy turning, so it's going to be one of the most instantly reactive handling bikes out there, almost as twitchy, or "nervous" as a scooter.

I ride a 1995 M900, so very similar. These days I'm in a part of the country with real winters (New Hampshire) and have to put the bike away for 3 or 4 months every year. And every spring when I get it out, I feel a little bit like what you're feeling here. Even though I've been a daily rider for 33 years, over 400K miles overall -- and 27 of those years and 300K of those miles on M900 Monsters -- after not riding for even a few months, I feel what you're talking about. So for you, after 15 years, it's not surprising.

Concentrate on looking ahead, as you know, and on being smooth. You'll work it out.

PhilB

·
Registered
365 Posts