Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
That's what I think I've narrowed my next bike purchase down to (cruisers up to this point). I've spent a fair amount of time on my brother's 2005 Monster and was all ready to pick one up, but just read the Cycle World article where they said the Tuono is the naked bike to beat. Anyone ridden both or any thoughts? I'm not a mechanic - is maintanence going to be more $$ on one than the other?

·
Registered
177 Posts
Never ridden either but the Tuono reviewed would be more on par suspension and power wise with the water cooled s4r or S4rs. The Tuono is powered by an Austrian built Rotax V twin which is supposedly very durable...which is good because Aprilia's US dealer network is not very extensive. Try to get a ride on both and then you will know.

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
I have ridden the last generation Tuono and it was a very comfortable bike from what I recall and the motor was plentiful with the power delivery. I have not ridden an S2R1000 but as previously stated that is not the bike to compare it to. I have ridden its rival a Monster S4R(S) and if I had to choose I would go with the S4RS.

·
Premium Member
383 Posts
maintenance will be less on the tuono, but have fun finding a reputable dinner that can get your parts in a reasonable time. the tuono sits up more and has a larger tank, but most of the motor is covered. it's fast and wheelies a ton if you want it to. just some things to keep in mind.

·
Registered
71 Posts