Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Ducati's and have just purchased a 2009 Monster 696. No doubt there's some operator error going on but my bike seems to have a seriously sensitive throttle. At high speed every time you hit a bump on the road you end up blipping the throttle - I can live with this although it's not exactly a smooth ride. At low speed however it's mildly suicidal - if you hit a bump half way through a corner or coming into an intersection you can go from being in control to spearing yourself off the road or across an intersection in a millisecond. It's great to have a responsive throttle and overall I love the bike but it's starting to put the wind up me. Is this normal for the Ducati?

·
Registered
81 Posts
I've enjoyed my 1100 much more since I got this:

http://www.g2ergo.com/g2-tamer-throttle-tubes-720.html

The hard core Ducatisti will flame away, but this is 2011 now. Ferrari and Lambo make supercars that you can also use in ordinary traffic. Driveability and performance are not mutually incompatible.

I use the "500" cam, the mildest available. It's a 25% reduction in sensitivity for the first 1/2 of the throttle travel, then it reverts to normal operation. Overall throttle travel to reach wide-open is just 12.5% longer than stock, but it makes a huge difference.

Others have reported good luck with the "300" cam, which is reportedly 1/2 way between stock and the "500."

Cheers, Tom

·
Registered
11 Posts
I don't know if you bought your bike new or used, but if used, the preevious owner might have mod'd it with a 14 tooth front sprocket instead of the 15 tooth stock sprocket. the 14 tooth sprocket makes it 'torquier' and maybe that's what you're experiencing...?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5