Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all. I had been looking for a Monster forum and luckily I found this place. I have been riding bikes for many years now and have always lusted after the Monster. I've decided that I will definitely be picking one up but cannot decide which one to get. I have narrowed it down to the 1000s, the S4 or the S4r. Most would say to go with the S4r yet I really like the clean look of the air cooled monster therefore I am leaning towards the 1000. My main question is whether or not the 1000 is as powerful as a modern day 600cc. bike. I now ride a Honda F4 and I would like to make that a track bike and use the Monster for the street. I know that the two are totally different bikes but I'm hoping that the 1000 with it's torque is about as quick as the 600cc bikes. You know enough to do some nice wheelies ;D Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Thats what I was thinking exactly. I dont need the power of the 600 on the street and dont even get to use most of it. Thats why I want to make it a track only bike. The numbers for the 1000 I knew and I know that it is a totally different riding experience. I love the look and the sound of the bike and my last two questions are.....how easily does it wheelie(for when the hooligan comes out) and on some of my trips I am on empty roads and like to get up to between 100-120mph for short bursts. Can the 1000 handle that? I know wind is strong at those speeds but I started off riding many years ago on a modified 70's naked bike and I'm used to no wind coverage at 100mph. Most of my trips are no more than 2 hours anyway.

S

·
0 Posts
along those lines, my 900ss/cr handled exactly what you're looking for and that was a '98 without too many mods. i imagine today's 1000 2v lump will be just what you're looking for.

·
Premium Member
752 Posts