Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone,

Sorry if this has been already discussed to pieces but:

The clutch on my M1000 is as standard and *heavy* enough to give me blisters during a full day riding in town.

I was offered a STM Clutch slave cylinder and aftermarket clutch springs by my dealer who demonstrated them on another bike; result nice light clutch.

I understand the clutch slave cylinder will increase the leverage of the lever only without affecting the operation of the clutch itself.

I am worried if i fit lighter springs maybe the clutch will slip if there isn't enough pressure holding the plates together. Is this true? I am not a expert in clutches (it shows doesn't it) what do other riders recommend?

Both springs and slave cyclinder or just slave cylinder.

STM is the only brand available around here, if they suck please let me know.

Thanks in advance

Happy Christmas!

Best Regards

stu

G

·
stm's slave looks great & judging by their other bits, it's gotta be tip-top quality. but they're not the only ones available. motowheels.com (one of this site's sponsors) has a signature slave cylinder that many folks have installed and are happy with. yoyodyneti.com also has one available. a bit more pricey but some argue they're a more robust design. this has been a fairly heated topic and i have NO first hand experience so i won't offer a suggestion of which to go with. just pointing out more available items.

as for springs? i wouldn't change the stockers except to go stiffer. i don't have an issue with clutch pull/fatigue.

·
Registered
426 Posts