Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newb, and I am clueless ... which explains why I am here, I suppose. Just trying to learn as much as I can about your gorgeous machines.

I am interested in hearing about the longest road trip you have ever taken on your M's ... how many miles (or km's) was it? Any problems? What do you wish your M had on it for that trip that would have made it better? And anything else you feel like sharing ....

·
Registered
2,310 Posts
I rode my monster about 600 miles from Boise to nw washington state. I had almost no complaints about the bike at all except for the wind noise. I probably should have had earplugs or something... It made me wish I had an enourmous windscreen (But I dont actually want one because all the windshields on the market for monsters are so small that they wouldn't have helped anyway. Plus I think they look dumb).

I think I am just about the only person on this board who doesn't mind the stock seat. I could imagine that being a problem for some of the more youthfully-challenged members ;D.

When I arrived at my destination I had sore shoulders, but that is to be expected on any sport bike. Maybe higher handlebars would have helped that, but then the wind problem would be even worse...

IF there was some theoretical way to stop all the wind from hitting my helmet, and give me a more upright riding position, I think I would have no problem taking my bike across the country! As things are now, I think 600 miles is just about my limit.

·
Premium Member
115 Posts
800 km.I would give my kingdom for a windscreen! ??? (I bought one after the trip but when i travel with a tankbag it doesn't make much difference).If you travel a lot ,don't buy a monster.

·
Registered
76 Posts
1000kms over 2 days - 10 hours riding across the aussie country side.