Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mind has been set on getting a M620 since I'm a beginner and feel this would be just perfect for me for a few years without having to keep trading up after every 2000 miles. I've been looking around eBay, cycletraders, bunch dealers as well as private parties. Most of them are around the range of > 5000 miles with an almost new price tag or between 10 to 15k miles. I really didn't want something over that range since I've absolutely no experience with bikes only with cars. With that said, I've found a few bikes that I like. There are a few '04/'05s and a few '02/'03s with the prior being almost $1k more in price of course and almost all these are out of warranty or have around 6 month left. I've read alot of posts and searched the webs on what to look for on a bike, but being a complete noob, the knowledge doesn't really help me sufficiently if I do go by myself to private parties.

If I do buy from a dealer, I will definitely asked them if it was checked and verified to be functioning well. But my question is, how would I know they are telling me the truth? Sure, they can do some cheapo fluid changes, show me it's clean and shinny, but that might be the extent of their superficial services just to show a potential customer that it was carefully scrutinized by them. Let's say I decide on an '02 from a dealer, it would be sold as is. I'm willing to pay more at the dealer for that extra confidence being it's my first bike, and a Ducati none-the-less. I'm just afraid of being screwed. What should I do?