Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In other words .. Im a newbie ( big time ) I have just brought a Monster Dark 750 2000 and I am still in the middle of getting my licsense.
So I guess my monster is waiting in the garage until I pass.
Its been a week already - I have started her up a few times but thats it - Im worried about battery going flat - if I leave it too long without riding.
Its very very cold her in the UK - so the weather is gonna put a downer on any rides at the mo - any tips on how to connect my datatool battery charger ? I know it sits underneath the seat - thats all I know :-[
So any tips on how to trickle charge & keep her up to speed when I pass my test in a few weeks ?

Cheers for any help ;)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is going sound bad but - how do I do this - any basic instructions ?
Is there a "how to " list on here
- I downloded the manual but I can't even see where the battery is under seat - thats how fresh I am to monsters !

I know once I find it - I can just connect red & black etc - then forget about it until I start riding but - where is the frickin battery ?

Cheers!!

·
Registered
8,800 Posts
The battery is under the tank.

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
The answer to the original question is "about two weeks".

Buy the Battery Tender. Hook it up whenever the bike sits. No more battery problems.

·
Premium Member
3,364 Posts
Make sure that:

1) Tank's no more than half full before you lift it.
2) Always plug Battery Tender into bike before plugging into outlet & unplug in reverse (outlet first, bike last).
3) Try to avoid just starting bike without riding it.
4) Jastek Powerlet is a nice way to use a BMW plug to fit the charger - also works well with accessories

·
Banned
3,931 Posts
OT said:
2) Always plug Battery Tender into bike before plugging into outlet & unplug in reverse (outlet first, bike last).
Is there a good reason for this rule?