Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm looking for help/advice on installing a set of Oxford Hot Grips on my 2003 M620 Dark. Just to give an overview on things, I'm new to Ducati and am completely useless at DIY things so please bear with my limited knowledge. I've read the manuals that came with the kit and just want your advice before I dive into this.

1. Removing old grips - Do I have to cut these off or will I get them off with washing up liquid and a bit of perserverence?

2. Throttle Grip - Under the grip there is a clear plastic tubing on the bars. Do I need to remove this also? The Oxford Hot Grips kit has a black tubing that fits inside the throttle hot grip is this the same thing?

3. End bars - The instructions say to remove the end bars to get the grips on, however the end bars on my monster are black rounded and no wider in diameter than the handlebar, so it doesn't look as if I need to remove anything here. Is this right?

4. Controller - The kit comes with a bracket that mounts to the mirror mount but it looks as if this won't suit a monster as they clash. Either way I would prefer to mount the controller on the centre of the bars directly under the dials. The controller has a rounded underside for sitting on the bars with sticky tape to leave a sticky surface!! Do I have to stick this to the bar???? Will this hold? I'm lost here because I don't see anything in the kit that will allow me to bolt onto the bike.

5. Connecting to the battery - The kit has fused wiring for connection to the battery. I've never gone near the battery on my bike. Is there anything I should watch out for here? Whats the best way to access the battery? Are there do's and don'ts working here?

Hope someone can help here.

Thanks
Georgey

·
Premium Member
1,386 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts