Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the better part of the last 15 years I wanted a motorcycle, a Ducati. I got a divorce two years ago and bought my first bike, a Monster S2R1000 2006. Got it march 2020 and took my driving lessons after, got my licence in august.

20200725_190115.jpg

I had weeks/months to clean and fix the thing. I did not pay a lot of money for the bike, price was fair but this Italian needed some love.

I am an amateur mecanics, i'm a lot more knowledgable in electronics but I just love wrenching, doing things myself and learning. So I bought a pitbull stand and tools.

• Remplaced rear disc brake and caliper. Pads and brake piston were melted !
  • Never knew when was the last timing belt change so I installed new ones.
Dealer raised an eyebrow and deter me to do the job myself "this is a delicate operation, if tension is inadequate you will ruin your engine !!"
Still, I replaced the belts myself, yes tension tuned to 140hz.
  • This is an American bike, speedo in MPH so I replaced the cluser overlay to show speed in Km/h ( I'm in Canada ). Odo is still in Miles but at least speed is ok.
  • Right rear flasher was busted so I created my own tailight with flashers.
  • Replaced all fluids: motor oil, filter, both break fluids, clutch.

Had lot of fun with my Italian until a couple of days ago. Bike is not broken, it's just too cold outside for me.

Why is this guy writing this longgggg tale about his life ? This a Ducati mecanics forum, get to the point will ya !

I do have a small problem with the bike: when I stop at a streetlight, engine will idle at 3000 RPM instead of the ususal 1200 RPM.
I twist the throttle a couple of times to rev it, release the throttle but RPM will still stay high.