Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
I am so bummed out right now. i'm a newbie rider and i took my monster out on the freeway for first time today and when i turned into issaquah the bike died on me at an intersection and it wouldn't start back up! :-/

after the bike cooled down it started up and i got back home. this is the second time that this has happened. the last time the forward spark plug was fouled so i assume the same thing happened today. the last time i took it to the shop the mechanic measuered the exhaust and he said everything was fine. i have aftermarket high pipes which merge then go back into separate pipes. Could this be skewing his readings if the forward carb is off and the pipes merge?

btw motorcyclist are so helpful. i had two guys offer to help me out and one guy followed me home to make sure i got back all right.

·
Premium Member
1,200 Posts
I had a vapor lock a few weeks ago, bike did the same. Open tank when that happens and a rush of air escaping means vapor lock. Check fuel line placement, check for kinks. Bad fuel filter. You also should list model and year of your bike as there are differences over the years. Had you just started out? What was temp outside, in teraffic or open road.

·
Registered
359 Posts
What year and motor are in your Monster?

I agree that it sounds like a fuel issue. Check the lines.
Also, do you know if the fuel pump has been rebuilt?

But, then again if you are fouling plugs you're probably getting plenty of gas.

G

·
Discussion Starter #4