Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am making my own clutch cover and I just had a question about the OEM one. Towards the bottom of the factory cover around the mounting hole the material is not flush with the rest of the sealing surface. Is there a reason for this? Also, if I just take off my clutch cover, is that going to hurt to run the bike? Thanks in advance for any help. I will try to get a pic of the area that I have in question.

·
Registered
6,266 Posts
Thats a drain, its there so incase any moisture were to get in there it can be drianed out of the cover when using a full one.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the help. I thought that it was a drain due to it being on the bottom. I am new to the ducati world so I am just trying to be careful and not screw anything up too much. I am going to be making my own. I just need to get some dims. off of the stock so that I can machine a new one.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Post some pics when you finish your cover. I modified my stock cover and I'm happy with it (for now) but it's always cool to see personal fabed stuff.

·
Registered
376 Posts
Hey Bengals Fan, FYI the cluch cover is a stamped two piece affair, or double layer affair, so if you are going to be putting holes in it or cutting into it, there may be a little seperation of the two layers if you push too hard in the drilling portion of the mod (don't ask me how I know this) It was no problem to fix I just used a little JB Weld and a clamp and glued back together the two layers where I pushed a little hard on the drill.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
As for the 2 piece construction of the stock cover...thanks for the heads up. I am actually going to machine it from aluminum stock. Think I'm going to make a 2 piece type cover. I assume that the longer bolts are the ones holding things together...shorter ones are for the cover only?

·
Registered